Saturday, May 23, 2009

The New Moon, Mercury and Pluto

On Sunday May 31st we will experience a New Moon in Gemini. This New Moon could be extremely important because it comes on the tail end of a month long period of Mercury being retrograde in motion. Mercury turns direct on the 30th, a week after the lunation. When Mercury turns direct it goes over the ground it covered during the retrograde period and the weeks preceding it while the planet was travelling in direct motion.

Plans and activities that began during the direct period could have hit a snag during the month of May. When the planet moves forward, those plans and activities can proceed unhampered by the Mercury retrograde influence.

If changes or adjustments were not made during May they will be made during the next few weeks as Mercury travels over the ground it initially did roughly between the dates of April 23nd to May 6th. Changes and adjustments are the keywords here. This is especially significant because the New Moon on the 31st will be inconjuncting the planet Pluto. Inconjusts are the aspect of necessary adjustment. This transit will help facilitate that action and help to be an instrument of modification, alteration and adaption during this lunation period.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Elements & Qualities

The twelve signs of the zodiac can be broken down into different groups according to some basic characteristics. The first means of classifying a par­ticular sign is by the element that the sign belongs to. There are four basic elements: fire, earth, air and water. Each element contains three signs. Signs that are of the same element are compatible in nature.

The fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. These signs are fiery in nature. They are positive, aggressive, enthusiastic, spontaneous, ardent and creative.

Next are earth signs; these signs are practical and down-to-earth. The earth signs are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. They are pragmatic, conservative, dependable, resourceful, mundane and reliable.

The air signs are the communicators of the zodiac. They are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. Air signs are intellectual, social, perceptive, curious, logical, alert and talkative.

Finally we have the water signs; these signs are emotional in nature. The water signs are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. They are responsive, subjective, receptive, sensitive, intuitive and impressionable.

Another classification of the signs are by their quality or mode of expression. There are three basic qualities; cardinal, fixed and mutable. Each quality contains four signs. Signs that are of the same quality are not compatible and feel uneasy with each other.

The cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. These signs are signs of action. They take the initiative to go out and get what they want. Cardinal signs have the ability to act directly and decisively. They are able to put constructive action into immediate manifestation.

Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are the fixed signs. These signs are basically fixed in their mode of expression. They are able to achieve results through persistence and determination. At times they can be extremely stubborn and are not easily swayed once they put their mind to something. They are also very stable and self-reliant.

The last group are the mutable signs. They are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. These signs are flexible and can easily adapt to whatever situa­tion they find themselves in. These signs have the innate ability to go with the flow of life. Mutable signs are more concerned with the past than the present or future. They have the versatility along with the expansiveness to enjoy the richness of ex­perience.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

The Sun and the Moon

In astrology the Sun and the Moon are two of the most important parts of the natal chart. Both are extremely significant because they provide much information on the basic makeup of an individual. Their place­ment in the natal chart can indicate some significant aspects of ones over-all personality.

The sign that an individuals Sun was in at the time of their birth is the most significant aspect of the natal chart. The Sun is the basis of our life here on earth. We could not exist without it. In astrology the Sun represents the very core of our existence. The Sun sign describes ones basic reaction to life. It is our true inner essence. The Sun in the natal chart also indicates what a person is striving to become. On the other hand, the Moon represents what one may be striving to overcome. The Moon is that part of our nature that can be hidden from others. Those aspects of our personality that we may not be totally aware of.

What the Sun represents would be meaningless if not for the polarizing and modify­ing influence of the Moon. All of life and everything relating to it is a direct result of the interplay between these two luminaries.

The Sun is the conscious side of ones personality, while the Moon is the subcon­scious. The Moon represents feelings and emotions that are deeply rooted in our psyche. The compulsive side of mans' nature is part of his lunar make-up. A persons instinctive reac­tion to any given situation is usually based on ones Moon sign.

In many ways the Moon symbolizes our own image and awareness of ourselves based on past conditioning. That is why the Moon represents those modes of behavior that we feel most secure and comfortable with. Those feel­ings that make us feel good. The Moon depicts those emotional karmic patterns that help or inhibit us in our solar self-expression.

The Moon is symbolic of the female principle in nature. It governs conception, pregnancy and birth. It represents the mother and the early childhood conditioning we receive when we are most impressionable. The Moon rules the home, family, traditional values, and the entire domestic sphere.